Triple-P Shake

Happy Thanksgiving to all of my Canadian followers! I’ll have you know that I gained two pounds from my Thanksgiving yesterday. But in my defense, I had two thanksgiving dinners…and I have another today! It’s not my fault that I love squash, potatoes, turkey and sweets!

So in honour of my glorious weight gainI have decided to share my favourite post-workout or breakfast shake!

What does the Triple-P stand for? Paige’s Peanut Butter Protein Shake! I’m brilliant, I know. The best part about this shake is that it’s super easy to make and so delicious, that you won’t even believe that it’s good for you!

Disclaimer: This shake is not low-calorie and doesn’t speed metabolism or anything like that. It’s meant for people who want a high-protein, low-carbohydrate lifestyle of nutrition. I do strength training four times a week, so I really love this shake on my days of working out! Here’s my inspiration: 

Shemar Moore
Shemar Moore a.k.a. Derek Morgan, my fitness inspiration, love of my life, and future husband

Triple-P Shake

Here’s what you need!

  • One scoop of chocolate protein powder (or two, depending on the amount of protein you need. I’m a total choco-holic so I love chocolate protein powder but I think vanilla or peanut butter-chocolate would work too. It’s up to you!)
  • 1-2 tbsp of peanut butter (I usually just put 1 tbsp for a hint of nutty goodness, but if you love that PB, go for it!)
  • 1/2 cup of prepared plain oatmeal (I make mine a little bit more watery for a less heavy consistency.)
  • One banana (If I’m drinking this as a breakfast shake, I’ll use one whole banana, but if it’s a post-workout shake, I’ll use 1/2-3/4 of banana, because it’s a powerful taste! I want to taste the chocolate still.)
  • 1/4 cup of milk OR plain Greek yogurt (I find the oatmeal makes the shake a bit too thick to drink sometimes, so I find the milk helps the consistency. Nobody likes a face-ful of shake!)
  • Tons o’ cinnamon! (This is the not-so-secret ingredient that just adds that certain je ne sais quoi to the shake. This is a Mom-approved ingredient — she loves this shake! Plus, cinnamon is great for your overall health: it’s one of the oldest spices around!)

I own a blessed Magic Bullet so I just throw this all in there and blend the mixture until it reaches my desired consistency which is silky, silky smooth. (I dislike chunky food — I despise fruit-bottomed yogurt, Rocky Road ice cream and chunky peanut butter.) Now if you are lactose-intolerant or dairy is not a part of your nutritional lifestyle/”diet”, then you can add almond, soy or coconut milk as an alternative and sometimes I just use water: it tastes the exact same. And if you dislike peanut butter, try cashew or almond butter.

Another disclaimer: The oatmeal makes the shake pretty warm and it could possibly gross you out (sometimes I am not in the mood for a warm shake.) So if you have a few minutes to spare, pop a few ice cubes in or put it in the fridge a few minutes to help cool it down to a more bearable temperature.

Based on my protein powder (Precision All Natural Whey Isolate in Double Chocolate Chunk, $56.99 at Fortino’s) and the above recipe (with 1% milk), the nutritional information for my Triple-P Shake is:

  • 483 Calories
  • 14g of fat
  • 47g of carbohydrates
  • 47g of protein

I’m off for a jog now. Try it out, I promise you’ll love it!

xx

Leave a Reply

