Low-Carb Chocolate Chip Banana Flax Muffins

Chocolate Chip Banana Flax Muffins

Mmmmmm muffins. They come in so many different mouth-watering flavours: chocolate chip, blueberry, and those pumpkin spice ones from Starbucks with the cream cheese filling in the middle — drool. But, like every other scrumptious food out there, they are not friendly to the hips and thighs area (at least, that’s how it is for me.)

So I went on a mission to make a muffin that didn’t completely annihilate your calories for the day. I bought some flax seed from Loblaws for super cheap and tried baking with them. I wanted to try to make my mom’s mind-blowing banana chocolate chip muffins, but a healthier, booty-friendly version.

I loosely followed an Apple Flax Seed Muffins recipe and replaced certain ingredients to ones I actually like (nuts and raisins are not my friends when it comes to baking.) It’s a very simple and quick recipe, so you should definitely try it!


Ingredients

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cups of ground flax seed (If you have whole flax seeds and a Magic Bullet, throw them in that bad boy for 30 seconds or so and voila, ground flax meal! If you want to go the easy route, you can purchase ground flax meal at all grocery stores. I bought Bob’s Red Mill Organic Flax Seed for $4.)
  • 2 teaspoons of baking powder
  • 1 tablespoons of cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon of nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • Artificial sweetener equal to 3/4 cups of sugar (1/2 can be flavoured sugar-free syrup): I used 1/2 cup of sugar-free syrup
  • 4 large eggs beaten
  • 1/4 cup of oil
  • 1/2 cup of liquid (flavored syrup or water)
  • 1 tablespoon of vanilla extract
  • 1 banana 
  • 1/2 cup of chocolate chips

*An important note: I replaced the 1/2 cup of liquid with 1/2 cup of milk and vinegar combo (quick-fix for sour milk) used to ferment the bananas to a good ripeness.

Preparation: 

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F. Grease 12-muffin tins very well. (I used cupcake cups so I skipped this step.)
  2. Mix the dry ingredients together. Mix the wet ingredients together. Add all together
  3. Let the batter stand for 10 minutes. 
  4. Pour into muffin tins and let cook for approximately 18 minutes (depending on your stove, of course) or until the toothpick comes out clean and the muffin peels away from the tin or paper easily.
C’est un masterpiece, non?


My recipe made more than 12 muffins: 12 muffins plus 6 mini muffins. Each muffin contains 5 g of carbohydrates and 5 grams of fiber. (Oh, baby!)

Since this was the first time baking this recipe, I found my cupcakes were a little bit too moist — yes there is such a thing– and they didn’t rise much out of the muffin tin after baking for some reason. But they’re still delicious for breakfast and they’re completely guilt-free. I used white chocolate chips, due to a lack of semi-sweet chips and I would recommend trying the recipe with semi-sweet or dark chocolate chips rather than white.

Mm-mm, enjoy!

xx

Leave a Reply

