‘Til Death Does He Dance: Giselle

Does that title make sense? Sometimes my love of words betrays me and something which makes sense to me is complete jibberish to everyone else on this whole planet.

Anyways, you get my point.

Tonight, I’m heading to my first National Ballet of Canada performance in about seven years. The last show I saw was Swan Lake when I was in high school and it was bee ee ay yootiful. Ah, if I had more money, I’d spend all of it on shoes and ballets.

Giselle.

Carlotta Grisi as Giselle, Paris c. 1841

The story of a beautiful girl who loved to dance and was cursed to force every man she came across to dance until he died. How morbid! Imagine meeting a totally gorgeous person at the bar and they had to dance until they died! (Likely from exhaustion, dehydration, starvation or all of the above!) That would be a total buzzkill.

The National Ballet of Canada’s Giselle is performing at the Four Seasons Centre in Toronto until Sunday, December 9 at 2:00pm.

Tonight’s performance features:  Xiao Nan Yu as Giselle;

Xian Nan Yu as Giselle

Evan McKie as Albrecht;

Evan McKie (via Stuttgart Ballet)

Jiří Jelinek as Hilarion;

Jiří Jelinek in National Ballet of Canada’s Onegin.

and Heather Ogden (ee!) as Queen of the Wilis.

Heather Ogden (Photographed by Aleksandar Antonijevic)

I must admit I’m a little disappointed that I won’t be able to see Guillaume Côté as Albrecht. One of my dance teachers used to have a fiery, passionate crush on him and always swooned over him in ballet class: she knows who she is! But I am ecstatic to see Xiao Nan Yu and Heather Ogden.

I know I’m probably going to cry… as I always do in ballets.

I’ll let you know absolutely stunning it is.

Visit http://www.nationalballet.ca for tickets. (Get them quick — it’s only here until this Sunday! While you’re on there, snag your Nutcracker tickets as well.)

xx

Leave a Reply

