Super Garlicky Potato Soup

Last week I had this insatiable craving for potato soup, but I didn’t exactly know where one bought potato soup. I knew my old faithful, Sky Blue Sky Sandwich Company would probably have it, but that’s all the way in the Annex…likely worth it, but by the time I found out that they did have potato soup that day, I was on the train home.

So on Saturday, my old roomie Carina (Love Laugh Sweat) came over to my place and we made this delicious potato soup that I found online. As soon as I saw that it called for an entire head of garlic, I was sold. I also changed a lot of this recipe, because I wanted some texture and chunkiness to the soup — I’m not geriatric yet. Pureed foods can wait.

This kind of looks like a bowl of barf.
This kind of looks like a bowl of barf.

Super Garlicky Potato Soup

  • 1 whole garlic bulb
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons plus 2 tablespoons butter, divided
  • 2 pounds potatoes (about 6 medium), peeled and cubed (I used five.)
  • 2 medium onions, quartered
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 6 cups vegetable broth, divided (I only used four.)
  • 4-1/2 teaspoons all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 3/4 cup of chopped celery

Directions: 

  • Remove papery outer skin from garlic (do not peel or separate cloves – I did. F the police.); cut top off bulb. Melt 1-1/2 teaspoons butter; drizzle over garlic. Wrap in heavy-duty foil. Place in a 9-in. round baking pan; set aside. (There was no point to this pan. FYI.)
  • Place potatoes and onions in a single layer in an ungreased 15-in. x 10-in. x 1-in. baking pan. Drizzle with oil; sprinkle with salt and pepper. Toss to coat.
  • Bake garlic and potato mixture at 400° for 35-40 minutes or until tender, stirring vegetables once. Cool slightly.
  • In a blender, combine 2 cups broth and half of the vegetable mixture; cover and process until blended. (If you want chunkiness, just blend a little bit. I used a handheld mixer in the pot for this consistency. I also dumped the peeled, softened garlic cloves to blend for maximum garlic sexiness.) Repeat with 2 cups broth and remaining vegetable mixture; set aside.
  • In a large saucepan, melt remaining butter. Stir in flour until smooth; gradually add remaining broth(Ohhh, this is where the rest of the broth goes. I definitely only just saw this.) Bring to a boil; cook and stir for 2 minutes or until thickened. (I just put the butter, milk and flour in a small frying pan, stirred it around a bit and dumped it into the pot with the soup and added the chopped celery.)  
  • Yield: 8 servings.

For all you health-conscious gals and guys, here ya go:

1 cup equals 206 calories, 8 g fat (3 g saturated fat), 11 mg cholesterol, 892 mg sodium, 32 g carbohydrate, 3 g fiber, 3 g protein.

If you try it, let me know! It was so delicious and hit that craving right on its head.

Muah. XX

2 Comments Add yours

  1. so glad you posted this! yum yum! ps how do you find out the nutrition info for recipes like this? what site do you use?

    1. Paige Andrea says:

      It said on the recipe! http://www.tasteofhome.com (I just google first and that one seems to be the top hit!

Leave a Reply

