Dear Friends and Family

Post-back workout! I'm proud of my progress. :)
Post-back workout! I’m proud of my progress. 🙂

 

Dear friends, family and anyone else whom I have regular interaction with:

I have experienced some things that I wish to speak to.

Now, if I haven’t told you this already, I’ll let you know now: I am currently training for my very first fitness competition in April.

Forgive my passive-aggressive tone, but I need to get this off my chest. I am not complaining – I am merely making myself crystal clear for those who may not understand, so I do not need to repeat myself.

For those of you who are not aware of the terms and conditions or what it is like to train for a fitness competition, I’ll give you a little sneak peek into my daily life.

6:00AM: Wake up to get ready for my full-time, 9 to 5 job. (Including my commute, my job is really 7:30AM – 6:00PM)

7:00AM: Make 6-7 egg whites plus 1/2-2/3 cup of oats. Consume before 7:30 when I need to leave for my train.

8:40AM: Arrive at work. Proceed to, well, work.

10:00AM: Eat second meal. Usually chicken and almonds, chicken and sweet potato or beef and rice. Depends on the day.

1:00PM: Eat third meal. Usually eggs and oats or fish and oats.

4:00PM: Eat fourth meal. Usally chicken and a natural nut butter. Or chicken and sweet potato.

5:00PM: Leave work to catch train to get home.

6:00PM: Arrive home. Unload all of my work stuff, clean Tupperwares from the day, dress for the gym, clean room, etc. Depending on my fifth meal, I will start prep for dinner at 6:30PM.

7:00PM: Eat fifth meal. Usually egg whites or turkey. (Or if it’s a Friday or Saturday evening, I get a cheat meal. Yay! Best nights of the week!)

7:30PM: Head to the gym.

7:45PM: Start work out. (Unless it is my off day, I still do 45 minutes of cardio plus an ab workout at home. But on Wednesdays, I do my meal prep for the rest of the week.)

9:00PM: Arrive home from work out. Shower, pack lunch(es) for the next day.

10:00PM: Drink a protein shake if I’m still hungry. (I usually am.)

10:30PM: Try to read a little if I can keep my eyes open or catch up on my television shows. (I am so behind, which kind of drives me nuts. I think I am slightly neurotic about television shows. Ha!

11:00PM: NEED TO GO TO SLEEP SO I AM NOT A ZOMBIE THE NEXT DAY. (Life is hard when you’re off the sauce a.k.a. coffee with milk/cream and sugar. Black coffee is less comforting. Ha!)

And it all starts again the next day. My routine varies on Saturdays and Sundays of course. Saturdays I have more free time after my work out, but I usually am driving around grocery shopping for the best deals. I try to be social on those days, but most of the time, I just want to relax and do my thing. Sundays I have to do my food prep for the first three days of the week: I hate Sundays. Sundays are spent in the kitchen weighing meat and measuring rice and quinoa. Sundays are surrounded by labelled Tupperwares so I can keep organized and making a tally of how much fish I need to buy for the coming week.

So after I have explained my life for the past couple of weeks and for future weeks, I need you all to understand something. Forgive me, for being selfish for a short 4 months of my life. I will try to text you to say hello (mainly at work, so shhh!) or shoot you an email to get a catch up. But I apologize for not being able to commit to any sort of social event, because I am just too damn tired.

“You should really make time for yourself though! You’re going to drive yourself crazy!”

“You should have time for a short phone chat. You have a spare 10 minutes, I’m sure!” 

I’m sorry, but I am going to laugh at you for saying this.

Unless you have personally trained for a fitness competition, you have no idea what kind of discipline and organization I must have to seriously prepare for this event. Unless you are truly busy, I am going to have to tell you, no, I do not have time for a short phone chat with the spare 10 minutes I have daily to myself where I can relax and collect my thoughts and just wind down after a hard training session at the gym including a long day at work.

I am also going to share with you that — guess what? — I am an introvert. I need to be alone for a small amount of my day or I will turn into a grizzly bear. I cannot fully relax when I am talking on the phone or engaging in a text conversation.

If you cannot understand that I will be selfish for 4 months of my life, then again, I’m sorry, but I cannot call you the true friend I think you are.

I need support right now. I do not an unnecessary nag or extra stress on me, because you feel neglected. I would love to have a social life right now! SO many exciting things happening. But my life is consumed my training right now — training for a goal, a challenge, a dream, that I have already put so much effort into.

And I’m happy about that.


So to summarize, I would appreciate it if you understood where I’m coming from, but if you don’t, that’s fine. Just please do not add any unnecessary stress to my already jam-packed life.

See you in May.

Love,

Paige

8 Comments Add yours

  1. christina svetanic says:

    I’m so proud of you paige! i wish i had that much dedication, or energy!
    Looking forward to following your progress and success!
    xoxoxox

    1. Paige Andrea says:

      Thank you Christina! That actually made me kind of teary-eyed at work haha!

      1. christina svetanic says:

        Awww dont get teary eyed- just carry a chocolate bar around incase marcus comes in.
        hey marcus!
        *thanks for the candy…*

  2. fiammisday says:

    So nice and funny dear!!! I’m following you!!! A big kiss

    1. Paige Andrea says:

      Thank you! I’m following you as well! Cute blog! xx

  3. skybunnies says:

    The ‘concerned’ friends and family is hilarious for the first couple of weeks, but then it gets seriously annoying when they still try to pedal cupcakes in your direction, teasing you with “one bite won’t make a difference”.
    Keep at it and if they are your true friends they’ll accommodate your freakazoid dietary requirements and even join you by ordering the same thing 😉

    1. Paige Andrea says:

      I know, right?! I just block out any sort of negative and unsupportive comments! So far, my family is pretty supportive which is nice (except when my dad makes his stellar pasta ziti and I can’t eat it!)

      1. skybunnies says:

        My vice is naughty ice cream eating Fiance…lol stay strong woman! 🙂

Leave a Reply

