Let Me Clear My Throat

I think it’s been maybe a little over a week since I posted my last rant .

I THINK IT’S TIME FOR ANOTHER ONE, BOYS AND GERMS.

(Those caps were especially for DoomzTO who prefers bold lettering to caps lock when emphasizing words and/or phrases. What a witty kitty!

Anyways, let’s talk about my favourite subject: food.

When I was younger – as in under the age of 10 – I was vaguely aware that there were people who did not eat meat, called vegetable-tarians. You may know them as vegetarians.

I don’t know whether it is the dawn of the ‘helicopter parent’, our fear for Mother Earth post-Industrial Revolution, or just plain old maturation and awareness for other people outside of my bubble, but HOLY SWEET BABY JESUS, there are about 9,000 different food philosophies out there.

Okay, I’m being dramatic, but there are definitely tons of different food philosophies or I shall call them from here on in, foodosophies.

And here is a summary of my thoughts or a thesis about food philosophies:

[Foodosophies] is like a penis. It’s fine to have one. It’s fine to be proud of it. But please don’t whip it out in public and start waving it around. And PLEASE don’t try to shove it down [anyone’s] throat.

You’ve probably seen this quote about religion. I slightly altered it, because I think it speaks volumes to this ‘new’ age of foodosophies. Which one is right? Which one is wrong?

For the love of McDonald’s Chicken McNuggets, please get off your high horse (or high tofu-soy-quinoa organic free-range blend horse.)

Unless you are binge eating deep-fried Oreo cakes and McDonald’s every day while simultaneously mainlining Red Bull: NOT ONE FOODOSOPHY IS WRONG.

Yes, I like to share my thoughts on eating clean and avoiding certain foods. But every foodosophy differs for every person.

I’m currently a fitness competitor training hard seven days a week and aiming for a low body fat, lean-muscled body. Thus, I will have different dietary needs and requirements than a cardio-crazy soccer player or a heavyweight boxer.

I’m seeing a lot of blogs preaching — yes, I will use that word — about personal food lifestyle choices, which is great! I love when people share about their foodosophies, because I love to learn about healthy living and it’s always cool to know new things.

BUT

I do have a problem with people bashing other people for not living the same foodosophy. I have a very, very big problem with it. Your foodosophy is not a penis, stop shoving it down my throat, please. Share it gently and kindly and with respect that maybe not everyone wants to see/hear/”feel” your foodosophy/penis. And no, we’re not lesser people for not wanting to do so.

Vegetarian. Vegan. Omnivore. Paleo. Raw. Clean eating. Pescatarian. These are some of the more mainstream foodosophies and they all have their benefits, which are all subjective to the person and the lifestyle that they live.

And to the people who vouch for one of these foodosophies over the others with studies and whatnot: you are likely only referencing articles which support your arguments to further enhance your point. What would be the point in referencing articles that counter-act your debate? Why do you think tons of food and beverage conglomerates fund ‘grassroots’ organizations and scientific studies? To support their own arguments, by manipulating facts and creating smoke and mirrors for those who will fall for the wizardry of words like ‘organic’ and ‘free-range’. Life lesson, kiddies: money buys anythang and everythang in the real world.

Thus, these foodosophy debates will go in neverending circles — much like religion.

To compare three different lifestyles and foodosophies, I’ll use my sisters and I as examples. We are all very active, but participate in different activities and training regimes.

My younger sister is a varsity soccer player who trains 5-7 days a week and does heavy cardio with some weight training. She is burning so many calories and requires long-range energy, as soccer is one of the most cardio-dependent sports. So, she needs to eat plenty of complex carbs, like pasta, potatoes, and bread to fuel her body and give her enough energy to last through a 90-minute game and 18K runs during practice. I just heard the Atkins Dieters, eat cleaners and fitness competitors gasp in horror. Pasta is not the enemy in all cases people. You can buy so many different varieties of pasta: rice, corn, whole grain. Just make sure you’re putting those complex carbs to use!

My baby sister — she’s 16 — is a Type 1 Diabetic dancer/soccer player/field hockey player. Please reference my Diabetes Awareness post for more information about Type 1 Diabetes. As both an incredibly active and diabetic, she has specific dietary requirements which is a matter of life and death. She requires a certain number of complex carbohydrates to maintain a healthy blood sugar level so she does not go into hypoglycemic shock, which can lead to severe disorientation, seizures and sometimes, worse. She, like my other sister, is not be able to live a low-carb lifestyle but can make healthy choices about carbohydrates, by choosing carbs lower on the glycemic scale (rye bread vs. white bread and sweet potatoes vs. baking potatoes.)

And as for me, you can check out my eating habits and what I can and cannot eat as a fitness competitor here. In summary, I can’t eat any sugar (including starchy vegetables and fruits, with the exception of sweet potatoes on certain days), dairy, or wheat. Did I mention, NO CHOCOLATE?! Tears are still flowing heavily.

Did I get my point across? Sometimes, when I emotionally write, I lose sight of my thesis (which was the penis analogy).

So, get down off your soap boxes (I’m looking at you vegans and vegetarians — you are always the haters) and embrace everyone and the way they choose to live their foodosophy.

Didn’t you learn in kindergarten that everyone is different? Embrace everyone’s differences and stop being a food snob!

Thank you and good day,

XOXO

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Casey Palmer says:

    I have received NO complaints while shoving things down people’s throats, I’ll have you know!!!

    …hold up. We’re talking about philosophies, right?

    1. Paige Andrea says:

      I guess I did mention manhoods several times….

  2. well-written as always! you are a blog genius 🙂 I totally agree! I heard once, “How will you know if someone is vegan?… THEY’LL TELL YOU.” I had one bad experience with a very pushy and judgemental vegan that totally proves your point. Not saying they’re all bad, but just saying I’ve experienced one up on her high horse (or bale of hay?) lol

    1. Paige Andrea says:

      Thank you baby cakes! xoxoxoxoxo

  3. Haha I had a similar experience with someone who was vegan LOL… I am somewhat against foodosophies (I guess mostly when people act as if a certain one is the be all and end all, especially ones that say you should never eat a certain thing)… I believe in eating clean I guess and healthy, but I have come to realize that I will never be able to never eat something (ie chocolate lol)… everything in moderation I say… also, sometimes you are just not interested in hearing all about someone’s diet… maybe they could talk about something else LOL

    1. Paige Andrea says:

      Lol I don’t why this made me laugh but you’re right. Right now, now I’m guilty of talking about my diet incessantly because I’m training and it’s all new to me! But yes, it is super annoying when people ONLY talk about food. And I miss chocolate!! Ugh, worst part of training. Chocolate runs through my veins lol

Leave a Reply

