For all you people who ONLY focus on the scale as a means of progress! This is amaaazing!

Fit In 52

Saw this on another blogger’s post and just had to share! So many people think that “muscle weighs more than fat.” That’s scientifically impossible. A pound is a pound, whether it’s a pound of feathers or a pound of bricks it WEIGHS exactly the same. BUT, it LOOKS completely different:
fat and muscle
This is just another reason why the scale doesn’t tell the whole story. Take other measurements and take before and after pictures. Maybe on your fitness journey you don’t lose a lot of weight, but it’s likely because you’re gaining muscle while losing fat. Just think about that 5 lbs of fat being replaced by that 5 lbs of muscle… Think about the difference in how your body would look though you would still weigh the same! Amazing, right?

View original post

3 Comments Add yours

  1. thekittchen says:

    Love this post. I started working out at a CircuitFit gym, and in 6 months I gained 15 pounds!!! I didn’t weigh myself for 6 months until I went to the doctor, and I seriously thought their scale was broken, or that I was wearing the world’s heaviest jeans. My trainer re-assured me that I have just gained that much muscle, I am actually thinner – but with more muscle now. Seeing that photo is a great explanation. The number on the scale isn’t what really matters, it is what you see in the mirror and how you feel about yourself that counts.

  2. Looking at that definitely makes you think twice 🙂

    1. Paige Andrea says:

      For sure! A pound of muscle obviously weighs the same as a pound of fat. (But I’m blonde, ha!)

Leave a Reply

