No Carb Day: Dazed and Unenthused

This is perfection. So true. (Stolen from Sky!)
This is perfection. So true. (Stolen from Sky!)

It’s cold.

It’s dark.

It is:

THE DAY THERE WAS NO CARBS.

I’ve always had low carb days during the week. But I’ve never had a zero carb day until the past few weeks. Now that I’ve started dialing in, I have a few no carb days a week.

But Sunday is probably the worst day.

NO CARBS.

Two cardio sessions plus ab workout.

I’m not at work so I have more free time to obsess over how hungry I am.

And there’s the exhausting morning of food prep and last-minute grocery shopping.

I’m physically tired and perpetually hungry. I mean, I just ate half of a cucumber. WHAT IS MY LIFE COMING TO?!

I drink black coffee and water to help heal the pain that is hunger. (I know, I’m supposed to be drinking water. But I think it actually makes me hungrier!)

I am really struggling with my willpower. I am having American-sized cravings for things I cannot eat.

Does anyone who is training for competition (or has) have any (clean) hunger ending tips?!

Please Monday morning, come sooner!

I’m dyin’ out here!

xx

(Crying.)

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Been there. First there was the brain fog, then the clumsiness and in the background all the time… pure hunger, knawing away at my insides. Handy hints: Green veg you can eat till it comes out your nose and it takes the edge off (a little sauce goes a long way). Water is good but only goes so far. Are you supplementing? There are some hunger curbing supplements but I haven’t tried them. Protein supplements were my filler, diet whey (low and zero carbs). Low carb days were great for stripping fat but make sure you’re eating enough to maintain muscle as it burns fat more than anything. Distraction can help a little too, nothing passive though, reading just made my stomach sound even louder when it rumbled πŸ™‚
    Keep picturing the end goal!

    1. Paige Andrea says:

      YES! So much brain fog. I feel like a major zombie! Yes I have been hitting the broccoli and cucumbers hard. I use some supplements – glutamine, Scivation Xtend and then my protein. My trainer makes my food plans so I guess I gotta trust her! I am worried that I’ll lose muscle vs. fat. Is that possible? This is my first time training for a competition, so I am being slightly hysterical haha.

      Yes I watched a thousand movies when I finally had time to sit down and relax! It helped…except when they were eating cupcakes and Chinese food. Haha

      Thanks for the support and tips, I appreciate it! πŸ™‚

      1. Losing muscle instead of fat is possible but if you’re taking in the right calories and training then you don’t need to worry. If you’re preparing for a competition (and competing is an area I know next to nothing about) then I believe it’s normal for hunger and thirst as you strip away the last pounds to get your body fat down. There’s a short article from a competitor on bodybuilding.com about his water intake here: http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/huston1.htm which you might find helpful.

Leave a Reply

