If You’re A Gym Person

 

…I have a question for you.

Last night was leg day at the gym. (Thrilling, amirite?!) Normally I work out in the ladies section because I felt more comfortable up there at the beginning of my training.

But last night, I thought to myself, “I used to love working out with all the boys! So many babes everywhere!”

(Plus on leg day, I use a lot of machines and weights with “multiples” — which means I don’t have to wait around.)

So I worked out in plain view of males – gasp – but something funny-weird happened.

Everyone – guys and females – kept staring at me. I was like…what. is. going. on.

I looked down to check my top — nope, no Janet Jackson malfunctions happening. (I’m looking more like Paris Hilton these days, ifyouknowwhatImean.)

I was wearing my standard Nike Pro Fit leggings, so, no Britney-esque mishaps.

I shrugged and continued on with my quad murder on the leg extension machine.

But it kept happening. People kept looking at me.

Was I being paranoid?

I went to the bathroom to check my facial situation: did I somehow have chicken left over from my 4PM meal in my teeth? (Does this happen to people?) Did I have Mount Vesuvius of a pimple erupting somewhere on my face without my knowledge? A bleeding nose? Running mascara? (For the record, this is practically impossible — I don’t wear enough for that to happen!)

I had reapplied deodorant and brushed my teeth before going to the gym so it couldn’t have been that either.

iPod volume was also at a mid-to-l0w-range, so I wasn’t committing a Cardinal Sin against anyone at the gym.

It still remains a mystery.

Has this happened to anyone?! It was so eerie that it warranted an entire blog post. A plea to anyone for their insight on this strange phenomena!

WHY WAS EVERYONE STARING AT ME?!

How do I avoid this tonight?! I like working out in the co-ed section of the gym – it’s more communal and I like the feel of it. (Also, like to attempt to smile and pretend like I’m going to flirt with a babe at the gym. HA – that shit ain’t happening, Paige.)

S.O.S.

xx

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Casey Palmer says:

    I was coerced to come read, so here I am!

    Maybe you’re suddenly producing a RIDICULOUS amount of pheremones and EVERYONE’S on notice?

    1. Paige Andrea says:

      Lol what are you talking about, you crazy cat, you? You begged me to post this blog post so you could comment on it! And you liked every second of commenting! Brouhahaha. Also – I used to think that was also the reason I attracted black guys. Pheromones are the devil I tell ya!

      1. Casey Palmer says:

        What can I say? Comments make my world go ’round!

        Good blog post, nonetheless. Asking all sorts of questions that make you go HMMMMMM.

  2. Ashley says:

    This used to happen to me too but here’s my advice: continue being a badass and they will get used to it.

  3. this has never happened to me but I kinda get into my own zone at the gym and tend to ignore everyone. my only 2 guesses:
    1. they’re all interested in how awesome your workout is and they’re impressed at how you’re killin’ it.
    2. they’re enthralled by your hot bod!!!

    1. Paige Andrea says:

      Lol! I am always in my zone too but last night was just weird! It was freaky

  4. debdutcher says:

    I am with Carina. You probably looked so awesome and powerful that they could not take their eyes off you!

    1. Paige Andrea says:

      Aw you’re too kind! I hope that’s it! 🙂

  5. bridgetmcgahen says:

    They’re probably like, “Oh, new pretty girl working out!” Dudes stare. That’s what they do at gyms. It’s uncomfortable, but you will get used to it. I wear my wedding band EVERY time I go to the gym, but dudes still hit on me. I just throw a little “husband” into the convo and they leave me alone. Way to go on making people stare!

    1. Paige Andrea says:

      Hahaha maybe I’ll wear a fake wedding ring to the gym!

      And I’m not new at this gym! I’ve been going religiously for almost 2 years! And it’s hilarious because there are etiquette screens posted around the gym that tell people not to stare. Men. Bah!

      1. bridgetmcgahen says:

        Hahaha that’s funny that they have a sign! Fake wedding band is worth a shot!

Leave a Reply

