The Most Surreal Experience

Let me warn you, this will be a long blog post.

So stop reading now if you don’t feel like creeping on my life any further.

(But, I mean, you’ve made it this far anyways, so you might as well.)

If you’ve been reading my blog posts for the past four months, you’ll know that I’ve been training/ranting/raving/eating for a fitness model competition, the IDFA Novice Classic.

Sunday was the day. 

Here are some pictures from my competition. (I don’t know how to embed them in here and I’m 50 shades of too lazy right now to do so. I’ll consult my IT/tech-savvy friend C. Palmer perhaps.)

Anyways,

Let me tell you, I have never been so nervous/excited in my entire life. Sunday’s competition was the best experience I have ever had in my entire life. It is safe to say that it changed my life.

…And I won third place in my division! You are looking at the IDFA Novice Classic Fitness Model – Short Third Place winner! It’s been almost 48 hours and I am still on cloud nine!

I have many people to thank for this amazing experience and I cannot forget a single one!

I’d like to thank:

  • Colleen McConnell, owner and designer at The Crystal Suit who designed my beautiful suit (and for Bikini Biting my juicy booty twice before I went on stage.) Sweetest woman I have ever met and most beautiful competition suits ever!  You can check them out here.

    Colleen, me & Jill
  • Jessica Cassidy from At Home Hair for doing my hair and make-up. She made me look like the beautiful fitness model on stage and my curls stayed in all day (which is basically a miracle for my fine hair!)
  • My amazing and supportive coach Jill from Fit Bunnies Fitness  who was behind me every step of the way from creating my weekly food plans to my training program to my posing practice! Jill is the most motivating and inspirational coach a girl could ask for and I was so lucky to have her as my main cheerleader! TEAM BUNNY FOR THE WIN! I’m definitely going to go and support her when she competes in the IFBB Pro Show in June!

    Me and Jill!
  • My friends. Even though I was kind of a crappy friend these past few months – being DD, going home early from the bar, not being able to hang out as often as I’d like, only drinking black coffee when out for lunch at a restaurant – for those of you who supported me, it was not forgotten! All of your hilarious texts and Facebook messages really kept me going! And I love that some of you have been inspired – from little ol’ me?! – to start/continue/amp up your fitness journey. I’d like to ESPECIALLY thank my hubby Carina who came out to my competition armed with the most beautiful flowers, encouraging cat calls from the audience and a delicious chocolate cupcake. I really appreciate that you came out to support me! (I was staring at you the whole time on stage…creepy as usual.) And my friends include all of you beautiful bloggers too! I couldn’t have been more motivated by your daily struggles which very closely mirrored mine!

    Me and Carina post-win!
  • And last, but not least, my family. They dealt with me when I was low-carb bitchin’, when I was basically MIA at the gym, at work or sleeping; when I took over the kitchen on Sundays and Wednesday nights to cook my food; when I was eating my egg whites (Sorry to my Dad who developed a pregnant woman-like sensitivity to the odor. Hilarious, honestly.); and a big thank you to my mom who bronzed me up the day of the competition (highlight of her life I’m sure.)

    Ma, Vic, me and “Papa”

During my training, a lot of people asked me why I was doing this. My answer every time was: “to see if I can.” This fitness competition was a goal for me to work towards. I am not the type of person to sit idle while my life is passing me by. I need things to work towards. During my training, I was already planning my next goal to achieve post-competition. I’m basically go-go-go.

I know a lot of people don’t really understand bodybuilding and look down upon it (for whatever reasons they may have.) But as I said before, it really changed my life. If you asked the Paige from a year ago if I would be confident enough in myself to stand on stage in front of hundreds of people in a teeny bikini confidently, I’d tell you, no way José. Ask Paige from two years ago if she could do this and that no would be even more resounding. But I knew I worked my ass off (literally) and I knew I looked good so I strutted my stuff like the champ that I can confidently say I am. (Obviously the buzzword here is confidence.)

Note: If you have anything negative to say about bodybuilding competitions, keep it to yourself please. Lest I pop your bubble of happiness in a protein-fueled vengeance at your wedding or job promotion congratulatory lunch.) 😉  

Competing in this bodybuilding competition gave me self-confidence that I don’t think I’ve ever had in my entire life. I feel like I can conquer anything – clichéd, I know – but it’s true. It was such a surreal experience and I can’t lie, but winning third place in my division definitely helped that confidence too. Recognition for all of the hard work I’ve put into preparing for this competition was just the icing on my amazing cake of an experience.

This competition has opened doors for other opportunities I may wish to pursue in the fitness world: promotional opportunities, fitness modelling, etc.

Who knows what will happen next?

The world is my oyster. [Insert Benny Benassi remix of Murray Head’s ‘One Night in Bangkok’ here.]

I’m totally bummed that it’s over. I’m 30% relieved to not have to wake up at 5AM to do an hour of cardio every morning and be able to have a little milk in my coffee, but I’m 70% bummed. I have so much free time now and it’ll be hard to wrap my head around the fact that I won’t have a competition to look forward to while I’m leg pressing 200 lbs at the gym after work.

I’m definitely going to eat clean (with a few exceptions and cheats of course) and keep maintaining this lean body as best as I can. (While improving my weaker areas, like my whole left side of my body. Ha!)

Anyways, that’s a nice word vomit of all of my thoughts and feelings from the past 48 hours.

Until next time.

xx

10 Comments Add yours

  1. thekittchen says:

    I don’t even know you and I am proud of you! Great work. I have been following along. I workout 4 days a week (circuitfit, crossfit, and trx) and can kinda relate to your fitness journey.

    1. Paige Andrea says:

      Thank you! Fitness journeys are a fabulous facet to life!

  2. christina svetanic says:

    Love your blog and your story! You’re very inspiring and i’m totally jealous of your physique missy! You’ll need to set me up on a regimine…can you be my booty boot camp trainer!?
    Congratulations again!!! goes to show that hard work pays off!!!

    1. Paige Andrea says:

      Thanks Christina!!! Of course I can be your trainer! 🙂

  3. Well done you. I’m glad all the effort and hard work paid off

    1. Paige Andrea says:

      Thank you so much! I really appreciate it! 🙂

  4. Congrats friend! So sorry I missed this post!

    1. Paige Andrea says:

      Thank you! 🙂 I’m competing again in November – I’m that hooked!

Leave a Reply

