CSI: Clean Snack Investigation

Hello again, beautiful minions.

So my mom went to a breast cancer fundraiser (Ladies Out Laughing) on the weekend and brought back a huge goody bag of treats. In the bag there was a ‘healthy’ bar and I packed in my lunch today and decided to write about it, like I did for the Vega bar yesterday.

What is it? 

The SimplyBar in Cinnamon Pecan

Nutritional information:

Calories: 160

Fat: 4g (0.5g saturated)

Sodium: 140g

Potassium: 60mg

Carbohydrates: 16g (Fibre: 4g; Sugar: 3g)

Protein: 16g

Ingredients – ONLY 10!:

Soy crisps, organic brown rice syrup, inulin, cashew butter,vegetable glycerin, organic pecans, cinnamon

Fun fact:

Developed by a Canadian woman (woop!) Cathy Richards. She developed the Simply brand 10 years ago. At age 12, Cathy was diagnosed with Crohn’s disease and struggled to find something nutritious and filling to snack on.

The Simply mission?

“…to make healthy snacks for busy people.”

Bragging Rights:

  • NO fructose or sugar alcohols
  • Dairy and gluten free
  • Certified non-GMO
  • Vegan
  • Kosher
  • Low glycemic
  • Easy to digest
  • 20% of your daily iron intake

Cost?

$10 for a sample pack of four or $30 for a box of 15

Flavours?

  • Cinnamon Pecan
  • Cocoa Coffee
  • Cocoa Raspberry
  • Lemon Coconut
  • Peanut Butter Chocolate
  • Caramel Peanut

Okay this SimplyBar is way more delicious and nutritionally more beneficial than my Vega bar yesterday. (And coming in at $2/bar, as well.) At first, it had a pet shop-type aroma – wood chip-y and ‘natural’ (but I guess that’s the point – ha!)

But it tasted pretty good and didn’t leave that gross artificial-sweetener aftertaste in my mouth. And it had lower sugar content AND more protein than the Vega bar.

Disclaimer: Yesterday I received some news after a post-competition blood test that I had some elevated liver function (possibly from my high-protein diet) and yesterday afternoon I was feeling ill after eating the Vega bar. Could have been the buckwheat in the bar, but whatever it was, my digestive system wasn’t having it. So yesterday I wasn’t feeling the greatest and now I’m all worried about my poor liver. (I was looking forward to some drinks this weekend!) 

Anyways, so far, this bar hasn’t irritated my digestive system. I feel at ease that this bar was developed by an individual who had a gluten-sensitivity herself. (Many people don’t know that wheat also comes in forms, such as barley, rye, etc. Tricky!)

I’m definitely contemplating purchasing this bar and looking into some of their other products: protein chips and whey.

You can look at some of their products and more information here.

*Not a sponsored post. Just a girl trying to do some personal research into the health food industry. 

I guess I should end this post with a cryptic intriguing line as Horatio Cane would, but I haven’t eaten lunch yet so my brain is fuzzy.

xx

Leave a Reply

