baby’s first open: 20.3

this one will be a quickie, folks. (will 20.5 be one paragraph???? stay tuned.)

lol remember when i did 20.2 the day before the actual *jUdgEmeNt DaY*, LOL that doesn’t work the same with deadlifts

THE WORKOUT:

  • 21-15-9: deadlifts x handstand push-ups in between each round of DLs, then
  • 21-15-9: deadlifts (@ a heavier weight) x handstand walks (bruh wut) in between each round of DLs
  • time cap of 9 mins

UMMM fun personal story for you about me in handstands: the last time I *attempted* a handstand was in grade 2 at recess and i almost did a front walkover, scared the shit out of myself, bailed and then scraped the left side of my face and ended up with a giant scab, all because i just pulled my arms into myself in a panic like a anxious turtle??*

*excluding the summer my sister and i attempted aerials in our backyard (EXTREMELY UNSAFE!!! DO NOT RECOMMEND WITHOUT SOME SORT OF TRAINED ADULT PRESENT. YES I WAS 23. NO I WAS NOT A TRAINED ADULT.)

ok so all that to say, that yes on saturday AM in class, i attempted the workout at a weight in between the scaled weight (95lbs) and the RX weight (155lbs) and OBVIOUSLY i did the scaled option instead of anything handstand-related (which was hand-release push-ups)

BUT ALSO

I DID MY FIRST HANDSTAND (against a wall and extremely assisted)!!!!!!!! big win, my dudes.

how did i do? i made it through the entire first go (i think it’s called ‘Diane’) @ 115lbs and then halfway through the first set of deadlifts in the second part (hey are you keeping up???? lol) @ 135lb deadlifts before 9 mins came realllllll quick. i never made it to the bear crawls (the scaled alt to handstand walks. but those are humiliating anyways lol)

first of all, deadlifts hit me in the mha heart and mha soul. i love them with all my glutes and lumbar spine. did i want to do it again (for real for real) on sunday? y e s. did i also dance my clown ass off for 3 hours straight on saturday night at the gym’s halloween party? also yes. did that involve an inhumane and arguably unnecessary amount of booty popping and body rolls a la Evil Nikki in Save the Last Dance? DUH GIRL.

so like, suffice to say, much to my very competitive self, i bowed out of the actual judgement day on sunday when i woke up feeling like mike tyson after he broke his back (ya it was thpinal) I DON’T HAVE A SCORE FOR 20.3 AND EVERY DAY I FEEL LIKE A FAILURE but i’m trying to get over it and again, not be so serious.

so what’s my lesson for 20.4? maybe don’t go so hard the day before???

but also OTHER big news – i have been practicing my handstands and now i can do them on my own without having a panic attack!!! my next goal: do them without the wall!

that’s all folks! stay phresh and monitor thpinal health.

pg

Leave a comment