baby’s first open: 20.5

wow this is my last post in this extremely exciting miniseries about my first go at the crossfit open. i’m a little bit sad and a little bit more relieved that it’s over! let’s just say i trained one day this week because my body was like OK WE QUIT. WE R TIRED YOU PSYCHO.

ok so this week’s workout was apparently very similar/the same as one from last year? it like, wasn’t that friendly to us short people but i guess i can’t complain that i wasn’t genetically blessed/stop making excuses lol

THE WORKOUT

For time, partitioned any way:
40 muscle-ups
80-cal. row
120 wall-ball shots, 14-lb. ball to 9 ft.

Time cap: 20 min.

LOL @ me doing muscle-ups. i think in my head, i think i can do like, one semi-shitty one but i didn’t try so i guess we’ll never know!

as soon as i saw this workout, i knewwwwww i would only be doing the rowing + wall balls. and was v nervous about the wall balls because 120 IS A SHIT TON OF WALL BALLS. and 9 feet is almost twice my mushroom-ass height!!! in metcons, i usually die when we have to do 50!

what was my strategy this time around?? it was to drink too much on saturday night at the dog and bear and attempt this workout in a hungover state and hope i didn’t projectile vomit into the chalk bucket. my advice? do not recommend.

ok so knowing that i’m OK with rowing and usually get on the struggle bus with wall balls at 15 reps — with some advice from a coach and my cool judge Steph – i decided to break the workout into 8 rounds of 10 cal rows + 10 wall balls (with a lovely finale of 40 wall balls. do not recommend.) hot tip: don’t ever do anything i do, lol i am a terrible role model.

DURING THE WORKOUT:

  • 10 cal row is OK (treated it similar to the skipping in 20.2 as a ‘rest’)
    • i saw a video of my rowing form and i feel like it’s not good?? lol i think i look cooler in my head than i actually do
  • OH GOD MY WALL BALL FORM IS TRASH
    • bad habit of standing too close to the wall (i never took physics okay?!)
    • i’m so short that i have to fucking jump every time i throw that ball to the target
    • i got no repped probably like 10 times because i’m a clown

how’d i do? got through the rows + was 10 reps short on the wall balls to hit the full 120 (ARGHHHHH) and got timecapped. boo.

live action of me probably getting no repped (:

AFTER THE WORKOUT:

  • my legs were immediately jello
  • my quads were dead for like 3 days after (it felt like my knees were getting torqued every time i crouched/did anything involving my legs at all)
    • did i do front squats on tuesday?? yes. did i feel like dying because it was 1 1/4 rep squats? also yes. do not recommend, part 3.
  • some of us went out for dinner @ la cubana afterwards because this girl was not going to drink booze right after that metcon of hell. bless the rice+beans that hopefully helped my recovery!!

what did i learn after doing the open?

  • i progressively pushed myself more as the workouts went on which was cool. like it is FULLY a mental thing. (which i have always known, but it’s hard to know when you’re trying to just survive in the middle of a workout)
  • i need to have more faith in myself. like it took me only 2-ish days to learn how to do a handstand! and i was OK at toes-to-bar with a couple of tips.
    • before i just said ‘i can’t do this’ about stuff and didn’t even try. so the vibe for 2020: JUST FUCKING DO IT. as my good friend bonecrusher says, “i ain’t never scurred”
  • do the rx! and not about getting more points, but getting out of that comfort zone. (nothing wrong with scaled, but for me, i feel like it sells myself short because if you haven’t learned this now, i am v competitive.)
  • also don’t do the workout the day before, lol. i am not a machine (regardless of what you all think 😉 deadlifting the day before a deadlifting workout = no bueno.
  • girls at my gym are bad fucking ass. i am mad inspired!!! i feel empowered, my dudes. now to not be intimidated by them…

will i do it again? probably. now to practice all the shit i’m bad at…

xx,

pg

Leave a comment