Toronto Pro SuperShow: The Spark That Ignited The Fire…Again

So on Saturday, I went to the Toronto Pro Supershow to cheer on my coach Jill and my friend Stephan in the OPA Provincial Finals.

bunny

For those of you who don’t know what the Supershow is, it’s a huge three- day multi-event for fitness fanatics. The IFBB and OPA Provincials were held in the lower theatre and the top-level had the Expo. There were model searches, supplement exhibitors, Amateur MMA events, arm wrestling, crossfit…and tons more!

Being at the Supershow, you see tons and tons of bodybuilding competitors – and lots of well-known figures in the industry. Now I don’t know too much about the famous people but seeing them and hearing about how revered they are in the industry was truly awe-inspiring. I had never been to an event like this before and as soon as I got there and got the whiff of Dream Tan and Jan Tana, I knew that I was “home”(super cheesy, I know.) The first thing I thought when I arrived at the huge convention centre was: I HAVE TO COMPETE AGAIN. Bodybuilding is my new ‘dance.’

If you’ve ever had a passion for something, you know that feeling whenever you’re an observer at an event — whether it be a dance show or competition; soccer, basketball, or baseball tournament; track and field meet or half-marathon — that you feel the strongest, most compelling feeling to be competing alongside the other participants and competitors.

And that was totally how I felt on Saturday. I kept thinking, do you think I can borrow someone’s suit and just hop on stage right now? Yes. I am that hooked. My coach and my friend even said they knew I would get that urge to compete again once I came. It truly is addictive to a competitive soul like me and many others.

My coach, Jill came in third place in her Bikini – Tall division which means…SHE’S GOING TO NATIONALS IN AUGUST! The Nationals are held in Vancouver, British Columbia so I won’t be able to attend but I’ll definitely be cheering her on from Ontario. She looked so amazing! Her suit was gorgeous, obviously — Colleen from the Crystal Suit can do no less than amazing — and she just shined onstage! Your eyes automatically went to Jill and you can tell she worked her tail off –those buns, girl! — and that she was having the time of her life! ‘The happiest girls are the prettiest girls’ was definitely true in this case. I am so proud of how well she did and she kicked ass (I wish I saw her pre-judging though. I know she killed it!) TEAM BUNNY!

MY COACH IS STUNNING! Via Inside Fitness (Dave Laus Photography)
Third Place, baby! Nationals!

One of my favourite parts of Saturday – other than watching Jill get her trophy – was watching the men’s bodybuilding finals. Every association is different and requires different routines and OPA has the Top 5 bodybuilding men do their 30 second routine on stage and it was hysterical and amazing! They picked their own music and did a series of semi-choreographed poses. Some guys did weird instrumental songs, while others chose heavy metal, rock, lots of Jay-Z, lots of Radioactive, but the funniest were the men who used slow jams to pose. It totally changed the vibe of their posing! Add a little Joe or Tyrese to your routine and it’s a whole new game – super sensual! Hubba hubba.

It was also pretty hilarious to watch each weight class do their 60 second ‘posedown.’ 21 guys hamming it up on stage posing was a thing I would never think would be so hilarious and entertaining. I wish I had been able to see the women’s fitness do their fitness routines, but I’m glad I was able to see the men do their thing. I learned a lot about bodybuilding on Saturday and it was an amazing exerience!

Hamming it up with pro Stephan! (My biceps are totally on par with his.)

You can check out more photos from the Supershow on the Inside Fitness Facebook Page.

After having the urge to compete again, I’m doing it! November 2nd is the IDFA World Championships & Pro Universe and you’ll find me competing in Open Fitness Model!

Off-season legs aren't too bad! 135 lb squat and 300lb leg press!
Off-season legs aren’t too bad! 135 lb squat and 300lb leg press!

153 days. 5 months.

I’m ready.

xx

6 Comments Add yours

  1. great to hear paige! that’s incredible!!!! this post makes me wish I could’ve come on Saturday… I’ll mark Nov 2 in my calendar to come watch you again!

    1. Paige Andrea says:

      Hahah thanks! Yes I’m hoping I maybe get my pro card?! And yes you would have loved it!

  2. Uh oh, looks like u have been bitten by the competitive bug! Hopefully your offseason goes great and you make gains for your next show. On you on Instagram?
    So did u do the 135lb squat with the free bar or smith machine?

    1. Paige Andrea says:

      Oh I definitely already have made some gains. I’ve learned to not be scared of lifting crazy heavy! And yup: @itsbetterblonde. And obviously the free bar! So much better – I can make sure my form is correct with a free bar. WOOP!

  3. Casey Palmer says:

    Hope you wreck all the competition on November 2nd 😀

    1. Paige Andrea says:

      I want first! (As I eat this double chocolate brownie from Starbucks,)

Leave a comment